Ecma International Home
contact us
Ecma Site Map


Standard ECMA-94
8-Bit Single Byte Coded Graphic Character Sets - Latin Alphabets No. 1 to No. 4

2nd edition (June 1986)

This Ecma Standard defines four 8-bit coded graphic character sets identified as Latin Alphabets No 1 to No 4, and specifies the coded representation of each character by means of a single 8-bit byte.

Characters common to two or more sets are allocated to the same code position. None of these characters are "non-spacing".

The use of control functions, such as BACKSPACE or CARRIAGE RETURN for the coded representation of composite characters is prohibited by this Standard.

The following file can be freely downloaded:

File name Size (Bytes) Content
ECMA-94.pdf 2 773 125    Acrobat (r) PDF file

This Ecma publication is also approved as ISO 8859-1, -2, -3, and -4.

The previous replaced "historical" edition of this Ecma Standard is available here.


Back Back





only search Ecma International

Level A conformance icon, 

          W3C-WAI Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 1.0